All times are UTC - 5 hours






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
  Print view

Can you overhand set the ball over the net?
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:23 am 
Site Admin
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:12 pm
Posts: 5
Volleyball Skill Level: A
Can you overhand set the ball over the net?

Page B-27 of the USAV rules states that:
Quote:
USAV 17.2.5: For Doubles and Triples Competition only:
intentionally completes an attack-hit using an overhand
set that gives the ball a trajectory not perpendicular to
the line of the player’s shoulders; or
For Back-Row Players in Six-Player competition and
Males in Reverse Co-Ed competition only: contacts
the ball completely above the height of the net, while
his/her foot is touching or has last touched the ground
on or in front of the attack line and does not direct the
attack-hit with an upward trajectory.


For 2's and 3's play, it is illegal unless the ball is set straight in front or straight behind the player.
For 4's, there is no rule preventing any clean overhead set over the net.

Additional information about this rule can be found here on point #6. Additionally, a set that is blown over the net by the elements is legal in all types of competition.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Style by phpBB3 skins, zdrowie cukrzyca ziololecznictwo phpBB